What Is The Statute Of Limitations For Filing A Personal Injury Claim In Pennsylvania?
The statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim in Pennsylvania is two years from the date of the incident. For a minor, it is two years from the day they turn 18 years old.
Do I Still Have A Case If I Was Partially At Fault For The Accident?
Pennsylvania is a comparative negligence state, which means a person who was partially at fault for their injury is still entitled to a percentage of damages. For example, I represented a client to whom a jury awarded damages in the amount of $800,000. However, the jury also concluded that she was 20 percent at fault for her injury. As a result, the award was reduced by 20 percent. To be barred from recovering anything whatsoever, the jury would have to find that the plaintiff was more than 51 percent at fault for the injury. When in doubt, an individual would be well-advised to contact the personal injury attorney at Crichton Law in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
Can I Even Afford An Experienced Personal Injury Attorney To Help Me With My Case?
Personal injury attorneys work on a contingency basis, which means a client does not have to pay anything unless they win the case. When you sign up with a personal injury attorney, there is an agreed upon fee which is usually a percentage of the money won in the case. Of course, if we don’t win, then there is no fee or cost to the client. You should always give careful consideration to the personal injury attorney you hire.
How Do I Find The Right Personal Injury Lawyer?
Finding the right attorney in a personal injury case is essential. You only get one shot at recovering for your injuries and the lawsuit must contain all past, present, and future economic and non-economic damages. Whether it’s a car accident, slip and fall, bus accident, or injury on the job, you stand a much better chance of a favorable outcome when you have a lawyer by your side. When searching for an attorney, consider the following:
How long have they practiced personal injury law?
Length of practice is not an indicator of success; I know several older attorneys who have lost their “spark” or have become complacent with their caseloads. Often, it may be better to hire a sharp, young attorney who wants to win as much as you do. Younger attorneys are typically willing to go the extra mile for a client because they know that a referral is the highest compliment. At the same time, younger attorneys will want to maximize recovery because they know that doing so will help them build a name for themselves.
When was the last time they tried an injury case?
You may be surprised to hear this, but many so-called “personal injury attorneys” have never actually tried a case to verdict. Although many matters will settle pre-suit or after substantial litigation, you need an attorney who is willing to take your case to trial. In addition to the ability to try a case, you need an attorney who will properly work the case up to be in an excellent position for trial.
Who will be working on my case?
Injury matters can take a long time to resolve. During that time, you may have questions, so be sure to ask the attorney who you should contact for answers. The number one complaint from clients is that they are unable to speak directly with their attorneys, and instead experience endless runaround with paralegals.
Is the lawyer knowledgeable about the insurance industry?
In most injury matters, the opposing party will be the defendant’s insurance company, so it is very important that your lawyer understands how the insurance industry operates. They should be familiar with insurance industry terms such as “reserves”, “limits”, “indemnification”, “declaratory actions”, “UM/UIM”, and other industry jargon. Furthermore, your personal injury attorney should know how to deal with adjusters and how to convince them to get you a substantial settlement without the need for protracted litigation.
Ask about referrals or references
The best way to find a lawyer you can trust is to ask for referrals from trustworthy people in your life. If you already have an attorney for other legal matters, ask if he or she knows an injury lawyer to whom they can refer you. Once you meet with the attorney, be sure to ask whether you can speak with former clients in order to verify their performance and skill.
Should I Call The Police After An Auto Accident in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania?
Anyone who has been involved in an auto accident should call the police. The police will go to the scene of the accident and write a police report, which will be made available to everyone involved. A police report is not mandatory in order to file a personal injury claim in Philadelphia. The most important thing to do after an auto accident is take pictures of the scene of the accident, including the vehicles involved, the license plates on those vehicles, the other driver, the other driver’s insurance card, and the other driver’s license. Not every accident necessitates a call to the police; oftentimes, a person can safely drive themselves to a hospital after a minor accident.
For a step-by-step guide on what to do immediately following a car accident, visit News. On that page, there is also information about how to find the right personal injury attorney in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
For more information on Statute Of Limitations For A PI Claim In PA, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (267) 225-3317 today.